Leaning on Apps or Empowering Skills

Screens, Cider and Mobiles - Share on OviIn a recent post, I talked a bit about what I do (besides writing). One of those activities happens to be training. In these moments, I’m asked to train people or teams towards learning software packages that are relevant to their jobs. Problem is, I don’t like teaching people how to use applications – that’s something that most can figure out with either some playtime or by reading the mounds of online and offline resources. I do prefer to take them through that software package by addressing the problems they are trying to solve – intermingling the learning of the application within those lessons. Besides being a bit more productive at the end of the day, I notice that they are better able to retain the lessons.
Continue reading “Leaning on Apps or Empowering Skills”