Home

I’m really enjoying the writing I’ve been able to do lately. I probably have to blame the lack of putting smaller snippets of thought on Twitter, but overall, I do sense that I’m thinking more completely about anything that I come across. In putting down [personal] tweeting, I’ve endeavored to write more, and to more outlets. This seems to have lept my thoughts into areas that I’ve normally haven’t been as adventurous towards.

For example, while I’ve blogged many times here about things like no longer giving away a resume/CV in MS Word or removing the presentation stand/pulpit from my presentations, its the former that makes for the more interesting writings. If for no other reason because its the kind of conversation that I have with a limited circle of folks, and their opinions of me vary widely after them. Those are the kinds of thoughts that bend my mind rightly I think. And are worth continuing down as we all try to figure out what makes sense as we get seasoned in this life.

One of those writing outlets has been Medium. I try to get to writing there every other week or so, and it seems that I might have missed a week or two lately. Nevertheless, the context of life asked me to consider what a career and resume looks like when you aim for “continually growing” over “consistency.” This past piece was called Drafting the Incomplete Resume. Here’s a snippet:

…If you look at the history of “the career,” “the workweek,” and other sociological subjects, you’ll realize that much of what’s been written applies to a specific set of circumstances that might not be as applicable to you. There might be some threads which make sense from time to time as you move through life, but the script is really all your own. You shouldn’t be afraid to admit that you are still growing. You don’t even have to lay all of your cards on the table when being interviewed (usually, the interviewer does not). But, you do want to be ready for that moment when you confidently state that growth doesn’t require you to color within preset lines. It only requires that for that specific characteristic, you either go hard, or you go home…

That was fun. Ok, it was more cathartic. You need those moments. And then you need to read things like this piece at the NY Times talking about how we perceive the passage of time:

…It’s simple: if you want time to slow down, become a student again. Learn something that requires sustained effort; do something novel. Put down the thriller when you’re sitting on the beach and break out a book on evolutionary theory or Spanish for beginners or a how-to book on something you’ve always wanted to do. Take a new route to work; vacation at an unknown spot. And take your sweet time about it.

Learning constantly goes along with this idea that time moves slowly if you continue to embark on new experiences. Makes sense to me. now, where’s that faith (gas) to keep from running away from the moment 😉

Posted in: CommentaryComments Off on Learning As Resume @Medium, Time w/o Speed @NYTimes