Home

Lumia925_group

As I’ve talked about before, I’m not in the business of reviewing mobiles, so my impressions of mobiles come along either when I get my hands on them from other’s purchasing them. Or, I might get some time to wander into a store and get some impressions. The latter was the case once again as in helping my lady make the move to the iPhone 5, I took some time to look at the Nokia Lumia 925. Impressions are all these are… I didn’t walk out the store with it.

The 925 is a nice looking piece of phone. Having been a fan of Nokia’s designs for a long time, I thought that the 925 offered a much better first impression than the rest of the Lumia line has lately. Maybe its in part because it looks like it was built around the screen, instead of the design ethos of the N9/Lumias-previous in which the screen more or less wanted to be the organic thing popping out of the slab.

I wish that I could say that I could have gotten an impression of the weight and overall feel. The clamp that T-Mobile used to secure the display device was on the side of aggressive. I could have asked for a model to get my hands on, but that would have gotten them into the conversation that I ended up having.

The 925 was at least on. And once I was able to press one of the front buttons hard enough, the screen awoke and I could see Windows Phone 8 in all its glory. Now, I did own a Lumia 900, and my impressions of it weren’t all that favorable. Besides being just too large to feel like a phone, it just didn’t have the polish that I was used to from my N8 and other Nokia Symbian mobile devices I’ve owned. The 925 finally felt like a step in the right direction.

I don’t know if it was the theme, or just the general snappiness of getting around the device, but it at least felt like the beauty of the hardware was not being drug back by the software. Sadly, the camera, one of the key features of the 925, was not able to be looked at because of that clamp. Shame too. I wonder if its better than what’s on my N9.

Having said that, I didn’t walk out of that T-Mobile store with a new mobile. I’m not convinced that Windows Phone is yet where I want it to be. And its not so much about applications – its about intelligence of the platform. For all that Microsoft has done to build a platform from scratch. You don’t have an AI approach like Google Now or Nokia Bots to push mobility forward. Its pretty much a bunch of resizable tiles, and integration that’s forced more than necessary [for mobility’s sake].

Windows Phone 8 is supposed to be getting a major update to add some of the features that I’ve had on my N9 for sometime (tap to wake the screen, flip to silence, etc.). Those are things that could eventually tilt the platform towards a favorable light. But, until then, its really more or less a platform that’s playing to be included – not playing to win.

Would I take a 925 if it were a gift? I not say no. Nokia seems to have kicked up the camera game a good bit and I’d really like to see how that end of how I do mobile would be enhanced. And even though I take a lot of pics, there’s got to be more to things than that. I wonder if me using it could poke a few devs to do some of the things that are wanting for the platform? I’m only a small voice out here.

Side note: T-Mobile’s Jump

When my lady was asked to get insurance on her phone, they talked about the new JUMP promotion being something that could be added to that. Basically, Jump is where you can get a new phone every 6 months and pay as much for it then as someone who has a new contract with T-Mobile would pay. It sounds good if you are someone who likes T-Mobile, doesn’t mind their device plan policy, and are a fan of Android (because they change halo devices every 3-6 months or so). In other words, its a way to give them more money for a device addiction.

I didn’t allow my lady to buy into that. Nor would I allow much anyone. I’d rather teach device and platform contentment and allow for folks to learn how to budget such that they can purchase a mobile outright, and then save whatever they’d paid to a carrier towards getting a lower-priced, better quality plan. The person we dealt with at T-Mobile was nice – I’m using Simple Mobile and there’s no way that T-Mobile’s plans are beating what I’m getting now. Crafty, but no. I see what carriers are doing now to preserve their revenue streams, but, to the smarter consumer, there’s no way to latch onto that without compromising the freedoms that mobility should offer (core unique quality, right).

Posted in: MobileComments Off on Impressions of the Nokia Lumia 925, & T-Mobile Jump