Home

Screenshot_2013-06-05-22-23-58

I mentioned some time ago that I wanted to move on past Twitter once I hit some kind of plateau. At first, I thought that it would be when I got to a number of followers. But, as you can see in the photo on this post, I’ve not gotten all that far. Instead, after reading about someone else making a cut-off point of Twitter at 20K tweets, I thought that it would be a good idea to do the same. That doesn’t sound like a bad goal for some people, but I might had been at about 19,500 tweets when I said that. Once this post goes up, I’ll probably have about 90 tweets until I hit that mark. Leave Twitter? Yea. That’s what I’m saying.

For some reasons, It doesn’t make sense to leave Twitter. I’ve engaged some interesting personalities there. And I’ve certainly had more than my share of commentary in that space. For me, Twitter is one part a means to share in the life-streams/public memes of others, and another part something like research. Its served a lot of purposes for me. But personally, its become a bit more of a time-sink than anything else.

Now, I don’t see me leaving totally. Personally, I’ve got a few things connected to Twitter that I want to continue to have out there. For example, I’m listening to music on my N9 right now. The songs that I listen to get scrobbled to the service Last.FM, and then every half-day or so, automatic tweets get published of what I was listening to. A similar thing happens when I write a blog post, or post an update on LinkedIn. All in all, it means that my Twitter account is about to become an experiment where I’m turning my digital exhaust into a bot-like experience.

On the other side of things, I’m going to just keep some of the more intentional tweets coming out of the Mobile Ministry Magazine twitter (@mobileminmag). That’s how I started with Twitter, and at least for a while, I’m going to go back to that.

A bot and a lurker?

That doesn’t mean I won’t occasionally respond to folks, or that I will actually stop tweeting. I’m just going to unplug from it and make some better use of the time that I’ve been spending on Twitter. Plus, I’ve got a phone that integrates Twitter into the experience such that I won’t care that I’m not a participant… at least, not as often.

Yea, that’s going to kill online reputation, SEO, and all other kinds of digital magic that’s supposed to be the fairy dust of these times, but you know something. I can do better than Twitter… even if that means I’ve got to get beyond the audience that is twitter in order to figure that out.

You can catch me here. But be assured. I’m not intending to stay on WordPress all that much longer either. Better can and should be explored.

