Home

A little bit ago (or a few days since this is pre-written), I pulled the trigger on a Nokia N9. It was hard to do, and at the same time I needed to do it. Some weeks ago I talked about a need/want to change how I go about experiencing life with mobile and connected technologies. I was presented with a price and a reason to leap. So, I lept.

Ok, from some standpoints, it doesn’t make sense to purchase a mobile device that’s got hardware that’s almost 3 years old, and that could very well leave me stranded in more ways than one. But I’ve got my reasons for not going with the current on this one, and I think it will bear out why this makes sense in due time.

Still, I’ve got things to do as I’m now at part 1 of this UX switch:

  • I’ve come to grips with the idea that I’ll need to purchase a new SIM card since getting an adapter and going back and forth with my N8 will not make any sense. I will literally be down to one phone
  • I have gone away from the thought of using the AirStash for off-loaded storage for now and will concentrate the next acquisition on getting either variant of the MotoActv (8GB or 16GB) and then making that little watch into a backup/server
  • The N950 took a drop and I’m very much not wanting to touch it, let alone use it as a sold device; plus, its purpose has it working for an MMM project. I don’t want to take any more time on that one.
  • I will need to learn how to code for MeeGo/Qt on a MeeGo/Qt device. Yikes

In the midst of this, I totally see my Kindle Fire HD not getting as much use. Not that I don’t want it, but I really have found the N950 suitable enough for nearly all of my computing. I’ll need to learn some items for presentations and such again, but as for life as I know it, I’m taking a leap towards something weird and exciting again.

I don’t think I’ve had this kind of energy in a long time. And to think, I’ll still want to play with the new BlackBerry Z10, whatever Jolla brings out, and even a Firefox OS phone.

What happens when mobile computing moves from a series of actions you respond to, to a series of interactions that enable you?

