Home

201_0014

Found this picture when Flickr opened things up with three months of free Flickr Pro accounts.

Back in they day, roughly 2007 or so when I took this picture, there were folks getting excited about their iPhone. I was getting excited about a completely malleable mobile computing environment. I had mobile devices connected to web services, a web server sitting on that (very low-end) N75, form AT&T nonetheless. The Nokia N75 and N800 Internet Tablet were mine. The N81 was one of many devices that I had the chance to review through Brighthand as the USA was coming to grips with just how large and influential to mobile Nokia was.

The N75 wasn’t the greatest of mobiles. But, I will say this much, of phone with number pads, that was probably the most comfortable. By the time I gotten my hands on it, I was very much surprised by what worked and what didn’t work from my years with the Treo and other Palm OS Classic devices. It was a hard transition for me to go to Nokia Symbian devices. It was harder still when I realized that for all that I was doing with mobile, I’d not imagined wide enough.

And then there was that tablet. Open source. Applications. Services. And a heck of a disconnected UI. Yea, there was something about that last one that had niggles all over the place. But, I remember having this dream about that N800 and Nokia pulling out something like that Morph Concept. I dreamt that my N800 would become that. That the N75 would somehow merge into that N800 and I’d get this open source, UI-hancable, web-friendly, and cellular-enabled piece of kit that wasn’t limited to being a slate or a flip, but something a lot a bit more.

Today, we’ve got a whole lot of black slabs. And it was right around 2007 that those slabs started to engulf the design ethos and mobile imaginations with them. I wonder what could have happened if concepts like the Morph could have come by now? I wonder if we’d be as tuned to the arguments and silos of today, or more enticed to explore and do something… more 😉

