Home

If you have seen my (constantly moving) Twitter stream, you know that there’s a point in each day where I’m just rattling through several reads. And yes, I do read them all – hence the preface [Reading] versus the normal RT prefix. Well, here are a few that caught my eye just this morning, and each begs their own attention – but I saw a thread with them all. My quotes are where they thread for me – perhaps in reading the entire pieces you’ll find a means to break through the hype before your ears and eyes and capture something like the opportunity that lies in these moments.

…For these and many other reasons you may instinctively feel already, we find ourselves approaching a crossroads where trust, meaning, and mutuality become less of a choice and more of a mandatory requirement for optimal intelligence.

By reducing the predominance of exciting technology we arrive at a need for humane holism. A total view on sociological betterment, applied on a technological basis. A total view where value creation by super-computers, isn’t at the societal expense of surrendering emotion. One could argue that only then will we see really valuable intelligence

Hidden Opportunities within the Hype by Jonathan MacDonald

…When I listened to this quote again last month, I was struck by something else in it: the combination of adaptability and intuition that proved so critical to Apple’s rise. Jobs may have been impulsive at times, but he was always methodical. This kind of nature suited an autodidact with eclectic tastes, empowering him either to obsess impatiently about a pressing problem that had to be dealt with immediately–much like an engineer–or else to let an idea steep and incubate until he got it right. This is why Jobs was so often right on the big picture, even when he got the details wrong…

Lost Conversations from Steve Jobs’ Best Years by Fast Company’s Brent Schlender

…Although they may feel a certain kinship with one another, they are not an organized group. Their main point of agreement is that the Internet has changed the world forever, in ways we are only beginning to understand. They know that Order is impossible and that Disorder is unacceptable. They understand that the world is a messy place whose social arrangements come and go. But they are united in the conviction that what must be preserved and promoted at all costs is what the forces of Order and Disorder, in their very different ways, are both intent on undermining: the integrity of the Internet itself as a reliable, independent, and open structure…

In the Battles of SOPA and PIPA, Who Should Control the Internet by Vanity Fair’s Michael Joseph Gross

As I read those, and other pieces today, I was kind of caught between the focus of what I’ve set to do – understand the implications of faith and technology – along with the reality that unless this understanding stays focused, [my] hype and passion for this means nothing. If I resolve to not move forward from where I am, I absolve my place in the marathon, seeing the big picture of what’s possible and being a prophet of the worst that can also come.

Posted in: CommentaryComments Off on 3 Reads, No Hype, Just Opportunity in Different Stages