Home

I’ve been a good bit quieter lately with the writing. Part of that has been because MMM has picked up a bit. And another part of that being that I’ve been a bit more discerning towards just how much I’m ranting outside of my prayer closet. I’ve also been hearing friends and family dealing with life as well, and its pretty much put me in a position where I’ve had to make a decision to just navigate life differently. 

Specifically, instead of subscribing to the position that I need to “find peace” or “put on peace,” I’m walking under the perspective that because I do live by faith, that peaceable living (love, patience, generosity, good temperament, contentment, etc.) is part of my DNA, not something that can be “taken off” by life’s situations around me.

With that perspective, I’ve had to reinvent a small set of Bible verses that I keep handy. I recently began calling them “The Package” and its kind of fits because of the message and the state of heart/mind that it puts me in.

Here are the verse locations in the order that I pull them out:
– Isaiah 26:3
– Psalm 37:4-5
– Psalm 138:8
– Deuteronomy 6:5
– Proverbs 3:5-7
– Romans 12:1-2
– Philippians 4:11-13 

And if you are the kind of person that needs something more “confessional,” here’s how I just try to rattle these off when I’m having those moments when I want to “wear worry like a coat:”

Lord, you said that you would keep me in perfect peace if I keep my mind stayed on you and my trust solely in you. Therefore, I’m recommitting to delight in you so that those things you’d have for me would come to pass. I recommit my mind and ways to you, knowing that you will perfect everything that concerns me. I know that your grace and mercy endures forever and that you won’t forsake this work of your hands. I love the Lord with all that I am – my heart, mind, body, and all my strength. If there’s anything left in me, then I’m not giving my all to you Lord. I’m recommitting to trusting you with all my heart – because frankly, I don’t understand all that it is that you do. I’ll continue to work on changing my mind according to your ways and works so that this life and this moment becomes another testimony of worship to you. I aim to be content in every situation, so that I may abound in the peace you’ve already hewn in me. I can’t do this without you or your spirit. And with that said, I let go of the worry, the stress, the pain, so that by your Spirit life can happen in ways that only you can make happen.

I hope this helps someone out there. Its a small package, but for me, its been powerful over the past weeks.

