Home

I’m really taking my time, and at the same time finding myself quite a bit impatient, with this aspect of how and where to best point my primary web domain. For a number of years, I’ve gone with the policy of owning my web presence by actually owning the data and server that it sits on. I’m not in the position to do this with my recent mobile upgrade, and it feels quite a bit awkward. I’m just not in a position where there’s a better solution, and so I’m taking to writing to figure my thoughts towards what’s the best ways to position things forward.

Now, I’ve taken one small step and am using my Gravatar page as a temporary landing place for my primary domain. It is by no means as fully featured as the business card has been, but it does at least keep the domain from bouncing to a “page not available” message from iFMW.

A thought that came this weekend that I’m not to readily throwing away is to use Diaspora as a center-point of sorts while I sort out how exactly to get my social networking and web-media uses under a me-controlled roof. Diaspora definitely provides the aims to do this, however, I’d still be in the confines of sitting on someone else’s servers, rather than taking advantage of the server in my pocket.

I’ve considered going with a solution like ShoutEm which is able to take much of what one (or a company) does online and compiles it into a mobile app. That would definitely be on my side of different in that it would be a heck of a switch to have people download a mobile app of me, not simply go to a website. It doesn’t answer some of the web pointer aspects, but this kind of thinking does pull out some of what I had sketched out towards what kind of blended presence that I’d like a website to serve.

The image on this post is where I was, and also where I see that I shouldn’t necessarily move away from. I believe that people should have much more control over how they publish and access services – especially if they are taking the position that using a mobile device is primary towards this kind of behavior. I think that creativity should be explored, and that services and devices should bend themselves towards this kind of use – despite perspectives and networks that might say otherwise. In a very real sense, I believe that we should operate online the way we do offline: each person as their own network, making sound decisions as to how we connect and share with others based on trust, not simply recommendation algorithms.

There’s something in this that I’m trying to figure out. For now, its got me stopped in my web tracks until I figure out something. I think I will, or at least have the opportunity to find a team that believes the same and we help each other get there.

Posted in: MobileComments Off on Positioning a Web Presence Forward