Home

Think Vitamin  logoA few months ago, I ran into a discussion over at Think Vitamin talking about one-page website designs. I’ve always like the challenge of trying to fit as much as possible on one page – hence my adventures with the digital business card/landing page. Recently, I came across TiddlyWiki and think that I might have found a way to push my single-page bent even further.

About TiddlyWiki

Essentially, TiddlyWiki is one webpage, with a ton of CSS and JS to basically make everything from viewing to editing the page happen all within the confines of one page.

It is designed like a wiki – meaning that you have simple editing tools, and it relies on a document metaphor in order to style content.

Really interesting aspect is that all editing happens in a browser, so you don’t need a local app. There’s support for images, macros, and many rich text formatting options (blod, numbered/bulleted lists, etc.). Essentially, you can get on one webpage the means to write a pretty spiffy manual for folks.

Thoughts on My Implementation

I’ve got to plan this one well, because it could really be easy, and could be a pain in the butt. The easy part would be simply reproducing what the template has, and doing some light customizations to the theme, fonts, etc. The not-so-easy part would be taking the graphical and technical lessons that I’ve already put into my digital business card/landing page, and making it work here.

For example, one of the issues that I already can see is that I’d have to make sure that TiddlyWiki could work if coded in HMTL5. HTML5 introduces several elements that are good, but can play with your browser in fun ways if you aren’t careful. And as I’ve pretty much decided with my current setup – I’m willing to live with some of the issues, not all.

If I were to use this, I’d also have to consider the size of the page. Right now, my poetry compliation isn’t 100K, but that could change by the time I close that book. Imagine 100k there, then another 50-100k for my short story, and several more for my blog. That would become a heavy page quickly, and go beyond the design of this approach. I’d have to figure out the best ways to merge and implement content on this page as I’m doing now.

A Mobile Web Server-Friendly Project

One of the instant attractions to this for me is the fact that it should be easily compatible with the iFMW environment that I use on my mobile phone to host pages. It doesn’t need a database, and for the most part stays light like my current landing page. This could easily be an option for many who’d consider using a mobile web server to host or link to wiki-like content.

From the look of things, there are implementations of TiddlyWiki which can also use PHP server connections, do multi-user sites, and more. Essentially, this could get fun very fast.

To Tiddly or Not to Tiddly

I’m not sure just yet if I’ll do it. But, I’m close. This makes sense for a lot of reasons, and done with the existing work I’ve already mashed-up, it could be an interesting project and speaking point.

Poke me about it from time to time, this seems like it could be a neat one.

Posted in: MobileComments Off on TiddlyWiki and Single Page Web Sites