Home

I was just reading about yet another head-hunter (job finder, resume, CV, etc.) engine. And I have to ask if it is really needed? Aren’t search engines now advanced enough that everyone should prety much look to get their own server and put on there a resume/CV that is searchable, malleable, and for the most part, not needing of being placed on yet another service?

I think we are there. And with the technologies already here to do things like the hResume (a webpage formatted specifically for resume/CV duty), we’ve got all that we need. All that’s missing is for folks to purchase a domain name and some server space. And boom, if the company cannot find you, then do you really wnat someone that cannot work a search engine. And if your resume isn’t enough to attract attention, wouldn’t it then be in your best interest to learn the SEO techniques that would help your resume/skillset rise to the top of a search?

Just saying, aren’t we past the hand-holding phase of this aspect of being online? Shouldn’t we be in the place of teaching people how to create better examples of whom they are so that they can be easily found?

Isn’t there more we can do towards helping folks to find a job than giving them yet another social network to manage? For example, we already are at the point where folks have a website/Facebook/LinkedIn landing page. Why not actually use these and teach people how to better use this to position themselves for opportunities?

*Yes, I practice what I’m preaching here. However, I don’t leave my resume in a completly public domain (just yet). To those who need to get it, I can give them access (again pushing forward a skillset). One of these days I might let that cat out a bit.

**And yes, I do work with folks with their resume/CVs and all of them get into the interview, and most accept the offered position. It is not impossible to use the resume/CV as a means to instill confidence and value into people so they can grab opportunities. I’m asking here to skip the social networks and add education and personal enablement into the mix.

