Home

I normally come across a ton of writings. My day consists of several travels on the web because of links simply filtered through Twitter and Google Reader. Every once and a while, there’s a piece that comes along to make me think. I might get to writing, and occasionally, I might get to a deeper think. I don’t even think that I can pull out something on this one.

A recent read that pretty much has be stuck in thought and action. Titled The Cognitive Tools of Children’s Imagination, it is an essay of very nice proportions. Here’s a snippet:

This strange incorporation of cognitive tools has also, incidentally, left us a little bewildered about how to describe the growth of the human mind in its process of education. We have had two very general ways, or traditions, of trying to describe it. One of these ways derives from Plato’s astonishingly original account, largely given in his Republic. To simplify not a little, he argues that the mind is essentially made up of the knowledge that it learns; that is, the mind is primarily an epistemological organ. If you want to educate someone, then, you must attend carefully to the kind of knowledge that shapes the mind to perceive what is real and true about the world. The amount and quality of what the individual learns determines how well educated the person is. Certain forms of knowledge can carry the mind to rich understanding of the world and of human experience, and these forms of knowledge should determine the curriculum for the young whom we want to educate.

Really interesting stuff. And I’m totally at a loss for any commentary. Maybe this is something just worth reading and reflecting on until something else causes it to foam to the surface into something usable.

I can say this, if you like reading off the wall stuff and have trouble figuring out where to get content, my social streams might provide some interesting routes.

One thought on “[Reflecting] The Cognitive Tools of Children’s Imagination

  1. As I predicted, days later I see this post and there are things that fly through my head and reading space.

    A few links came up today that posture me again towards this side of thinking: Kids smart on apps and not at school at Handschooling and The School of Me at Learning In a Flat World.

    If anything, I can quote what I said at the latter site:

    “the feeling that’s here and very disruptive in saying that “tech has changed, new learners have adapted, and things can’t go back as they were.” In my space, I’ve lived with such an ideal long enough now that there are aspects of learning, living, and computing that are painful if I have to go back (such as using a desktop/laptop vs a mobile for commenting) – and yet I realize that such living is only a part of the puzzle. Tech is part of the answer, behavior transformations (revaluing learning and living with one another) is the other part. How we can answer that might be in the tech, but is also in contextually relating to one another beyond the bits and bytes.”

    Times are changing, and kids (as usual) are pointing to where things are, not where they are going. Got to get on the boat and row, or sink w/o abilities to swim.

Comments are closed.