Home

Over at the Nokia Conversation’s blog, there’s a new post talking about the use of a mobile device to minimize one’s use of energy resources while staying connected and productive (going mobile to go green). I’ve got an N97 and have many times talked about using it for just that, however, things don’t always work as expected.

For example, I often like to read PDF documents – well, I don’t like to read them, but the content I want to read is formatted with PDF and so it requires a reader. I’ve got Adobe Acrobat Reader, but its not the free one that’s on a laptop, its a paid one which isn’t optimized for my device.

Or, when reading RSS feeds with Google Reader, I like to open a number of pages, and many times will send friends/family a link to something that I’ve read that would be of interest to them. If I’m not careful, just trying to send a link could close the browser or email client. Or worse, just opening a link to a full web page could close the browser (because the page is too large for the available memory on the device).

The more complicated items that I do such as blogging and writing tends to happen in spurts. There are many time where I just pull out the device and compose away. Then others when I’ll want to do something a bit more in-depth and will use the wireless keyboard that I have. And times still where I’d like to go on my reading/writing binges and really cut loose with my mobile, but a lot in the way of the speed and usability of the device, and even the usability of content just gets in the way.

So while its possible go green with mobile, things like this are impediments to staying productive. And while I’m different in the respect that I would rather use a mobile device where there’s a laptop, bigger camera, car radio, or even TV in front of me, I’m not different in the respect that I’d like to get things done as simply as possible.

The problem is that going mobile doesn’t always work. There are compromises which can sometimes be fun in overcoming, and others which aren’t so fun because they aren’t a simple solution, or are a simple solution with ramifications later. I enjoy looking for those solutions, but man, there are moment, like today in trying to find flight information, that I wish things would just work – mobile would win here if it just did.

I hope that future devices and services take these things into account. It doesn’t matter one bit to go green if you need to do double the effort in order to get fewer, or lessened results.

One thought on “Going Green & Mobile Is Easy… When It Works

  1. Pingback: Going Green & Mobile Is Easy… When It Works « AntoineRJWright.com … · Staringfrog.com

Comments are closed.